top of page
Andre Dapitan

Synaesthesia | Audio/Visual performance

I had to form groups and create an Intermedia exhibition project during my second year at Massey University. This project, titled "Synaesthesia," is an audio/visual installation that enables the user to manipulate both music and videos to create their own style of art. Our original objective for this project was to combine hypermediacy and intermediacy whilst also providing the audience/user total control over the audio and video and continuing to allow them to create something visually and audibly pleasing to themselves through using guided tools we made available (Midi controllers, Television, Cathodemer, touchdesigner). Our main point for this assessment was remediation of our own media but we also wanted the user/audience to make them feel like they are apart of the art.


We took into account using Cathodemer as our primary software for this project, but it repeatedly proved to be challenging to use, so Sabrina suggested Touchdesigner, which we realized to be significantly smoother to use and found it way better and controllable.


My role in this project was to serve as a content creator, and I genuinely think that the most successful contribution I made was attempting to assist Jakkob and Liam (our producers and directors) in setting up the installment as well as attempting to create my own video for the actual performance. I used old clips from previous projects as well as current videos from other projects, such as my old VFX submissions, animation projects, video and film projects, and so on. Another successful contribution I made to the group has been my ability to edit my videos with Adobe Premiere Pro, which is one of my strengths. Overall, I enjoyed the project and being able to wander around the room and observe the surroundings while learning about other people’s projects was very entertaining and super fun.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page