top of page
Andre Dapitan

A kid and his HP Compact

Updated: Apr 26, 2022


I had my first personal computer at the age of 13. I managed to persuade my mum that I needed a pc for college and I was able to get hold of one from a family friend. If I remember correctly, it was one of those HP compact PCs made for office work. My time spent on the computer studying was very little, but much of my time was spent playing games as well as browsing through social media. What almost felt non-stop, staying up late at night watching YouTube videos, streaming films for free. But it was from that computer and my recreational time spent on it, I came across video editing. Watching various content from YouTube made me want to post my own content as well. I started screen recording my gaming clips with Bandicam, and embarked on my path as a video editor by using a web-based video editing site. I was horrible at it, the screen recording was of poor quality, the Video editing website was very limited and posting it on YouTube with a big water mark on the video was visually displeasing. It had no views and I ended up deleting the video. However for me I really enjoyed it, the thrill of editing the videos, adjusting and polishing certain clips. I see video editing as a way for me to tell my story, I’m able to merge and tweak those moments and turn it into a visual narrative in exchange for entertaining others.





1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page